Mandela Mile Leadership Programme: Being a Leader - Living our Values

Start Date

End Date

Online Training

The Being a Leader - Living our Values workshop delivered by the Youth Charter as part of the Mandela Mile Leadership Programme.

The workshop provided participants with an understanding of: Leadership in the 21st Century Post Covid-19 World; Leadership in Values and Excellence; Nelson Mandela the Boxer and Leader; Kofi Annan the Sprinter and Leader; Participants were also introduced to: Sport for Development and Peace; and Sport delivering the UN 2030 Sustainable Development Goals. And were then asked to apply this to the projects they were delivering by considering: How your project can achieve this goal in a Post Covid-19 environment?; and How sport can be used help to deliver this goal? The workshop concluded with: Post Covid-19 Call 2 Action; Legacy Cultural Framework; Community Campus Model; Social Coach Leadership Programme.

Project Numbers


Stakeholder Partners


Young People or Participants


Social Coaches or Facilitators

Sustainable Development Goal Outcomes

UN SDGs circle.png

SDG 4 - Quality Education

UN SDGs circle.png

SDG 5 - Gender Equality

UN SDGs circle.png

SDG 8 - Decent Work and Economic Growth

UN SDGs circle.png

SDG 11 - Sustainable Cities and Communitie

UN SDGs circle.png

SDG 17 - Partnerships for the Goals

Project Report

MM File Image copy.png

Project Videos

Video icon.png

Project Gallery



Youth Charter Dame Mary Glen Haig Office of

Sport for Development and Peace,

London Stadium Learning, London Stadium, 

Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park, London, E20 2ST

United Kingdom


+44 (0) 7904 339 935


UK Registered Charity        

Charitable Incorporated Organisation


United Nations Accredited  

Non Governmental Organisation

© 2021 Youth Charter

Facebook logo.png
twitter logo.png
YouTube logo.png

Honorary Life President

The Late Dame Mary Glen Haig DBE*

Former Presidents

The Late Gerald Grosvenor, 6th Duke of Westminster KG, CB, CVO, OBE, TD

The Late Lord Terry Thomas CBE

Founder and Chair

Prof. Geoff Thompson MBE FRSA DL

*In Perpetuity

Vice Presidents

Sir Bobby Charlton CBE

Pearly Gates

Judge Goldstone

Sir Alex Ferguson CBE

Sir Clive Lloyd CBE

Judge Gabrielle Kirk McDonald

Lord Herman Ouseley

Sir Steve Redgrave CBE

Dame Sarah Storey DBE

Lemn Sissay MBE

Sir Rodney Walker

Frank Warren


Elaine Banton

Mark Barratt

Alison Burchell

Juliet Donoghue

Nadine Dyer

Peter Ibsen

Phil McCauley

Prof. Geoff Thompson MBE FRSA DL

Chris Sayers

Ronnie Todd